Region

Collage of students planting trees.

Let's Plant Addis ist ein gemeinsames Wiederaufforstungsprojekt in Äthiopien, das Let's Plant e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit der Umweltgruppe der deutschen Schule in Addis Abeba (DBSAA) und dem äthiopischen Forestry Research Instituts (EEFRI) im Jahr 2020 ins Leben gerufen hat. Die Ziele des Projektes sind:

  1. Auf einer erodierten/entwaldeten Fläche sollen 10.000 Bäume lokaler Baumarten angepflanzt werden.
  2. Die Bäume sollen über einen längeren Zeitraum betreut werden, sodass sie sich dort nachhaltig etablieren können. 
  3. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler sollen in den Wiederaufforstungsprozess eingebunden werden, das Projekt aktiv mitgestalten, Erfahrungen sammeln und ein Bewusstsein für die nachhaltige Wiederaufforstung entwickeln.

Mit Hilfe von EEFRI konnte eine etwa 4ha große Fläche in der Nähe von Bishoftu ausgemacht und für das Projekt gewonnen werden. Die lokalen Baumarten Olea africana (afrikanischer Olivenbaum) und Juniperus procera (ostafrikanischer Wacholder) haben sich als für die Fläche geeignete Arten herausgestellt. Von beiden Arten wurden insgesamt 10.000 Setzlinge zwischen Oktober 2020 und Juni 2021 in einer selbstgebauten Baumschule auf dem Gelände von DBSAA sowie im Forstinstitut EEFRI herangezogen. Im Juli und August 2021 wurden die Setzlinge mit der Unterstützung von EEFRI und lokalen Arbeitskräften auf die Fläche ausgepflanzt. Aktuell werden die Setzlinge von Wachpersonal bewässert und gegen Wildverbiss geschützt. Unser Vorsitzender hat die Fläche im September 2021 besucht und sich mit unseren Partnern vor Ort ausgetauscht.

Hier einige Eindrücke vom Projekt:

Students sowing tree seeds.
Details of sowing

Das ist ein Spacer.

Individual Students
Some students around a provisional nursery

Das ist ein Spacer.

Seedlings in bag pots.
Seedlings in nursery.

Das ist ein Spacer.

Unloading seedlings on planting site.

Das ist ein Spacer.

A man planting a seedling.

Das ist ein Spacer.

Two men planting seedlings.

Das ist ein Spacer.

Young people planting seedlings.

Das ist ein Spacer.

More people planting seedlings.

Meilensteine, die bereits erreicht worden sind:

  • Vorbereitung einer kleinen Baumschule auf dem Gelände der deutschen Schule.
  • Beschaffung der 10.000 Samen.
  • Aussaat von 750 Samen auf dem Gelände der deutschen Schule.
  • Aussaat der restlichen Samen im fortwirtschaftlichen Institut.
  • Einbindung der Pflanzaktion in das Curriculum der deutschen Schule (u.a. im Rahmen von AGs).
  • Bekanntmachung des Projekts im Bonner Raum (u.a. Zeitungsartikel im General-Anzeiger).
  • Lokalisierung und Gewinnung einer geeigneten Fläche.
  • Auspflanzung der Setzlinge auf die Fläche.               

Für das Projekt benötigen wir noch Spenden für

  • Aufbau eines Zauns zum Schutz gegen Wildverbiss
  • Bewässerung der Pflanzen
  • Bezahlung von lokalen Arbeitskräften zur Unterstützung bei der Bewässerung
  • Die bisherigen Spenden wurden genutzt, um die Samen und das Baumschulmaterial zu beschaffen, die bisherige Bewässerung zu gewährleisten und die Auspflanzung der Setzlinge auf die Fläche durchzuführen.

Neben der Unterstützung durch engagierte Privatpersonen haben wir bereits eine Anschubhilfe der Dt. Telekom erhalten und der gemeinnützige Verein Menschenfreude.org hat 1.500 Bäume finanziert. Herzlichen Dank an alle bisherigen Spenderinnen und Spender! Insgesamt haben wir damit ca. die Hälfte unseres Spendenziels für dieses Projekt erreicht. Deshalb gilt weiterhin: Jede Spende hilft, um das Projekt voranzutreiben und Addis zu bepflanzen!

Let's Plant
IBAN: DE97 8306 5408 0004 1350 59
NIC (SWIFT Code): GENODEF1SLR

or easily via

Donate now! This donation form is provided by betterplace.org.

Sehr gerne kann auch der Flyer zu Let's Plant Addis geteilt werden! Der Flyer kann hier heruntergeladen werden: Flyer Let's Plant Addis 

Flyer front
Flyer back

 

Firmen und Organisationen, die dieses Projekt unterstützen:

Telekom Logo
Menschenfreude Logo
Panorama view of rift valley

Auch im Rahmen des Tropentags 2022 organisieren wir wieder einen Fotowettbewerb. Das Thema lautet: degradiertes Land im Sinne eines ganzheitlichen Landschafts-Managements aufzuwerten / zu verbessern. Die Ausschreibung erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tropentag 2022 (https://www.tropentag.de/). Der Tropentag wird vom 14.-16. September 2022 als Hybrid-Konferenz (teils online, teils in Präsenz) in Prag stattfinden. Die Konferenz wird gemeinsam von den Universitäten Berlin, Bonn, Göttingen, Hohenheim, Kassel-Witzenhausen (alle Detuschland), Gent (Belgien), Prag (Tschechien), Wien (Österreich) sowie dem Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF e.V.),  der Arbeitstgemeinschaft  für Tropische und Subtropische Agrarforschung (ATSAF e.V) und dem GIZ Fund International Agricultural Research (FIA) ausgerichtet. Der Tropentag gilt mit regelmäßig um die 1000 Teilnehmern als einer der größten wissenschaftlichen Kongresse zum Thema tropische und subtropische Agrarwissenschaften weltweit. Er ist interdisziplinär und mit einem starken Akzent auf Nachwuchswissenschaftler ausgelegt

Die Idee des Fotowettbewerbs ist es, möglichst ausdrucksstarke Bilder und Fotoreportagen zum Thema zu finden. Auf diese Weise sollen interessante, erfolgversprechende und emotional ansprechende Ansätze gesammelt und bekannt gemacht werden. 

Die beiden Kategorien des Wettbewerbs sind:

  1. Bestes Einzelfoto
  2. Beste Fotostory (max. 10 Fotos)

Zu jeder Einsendungen soll ein informativer Titel und möglichst eine kleine Geschichte und, wenn möglich, (wissenschaftliche) Hintergrundinformationen geliefert werden. Die Beiträge sollen dann per E-Mail an fotocontest@lets-plant.org geschickt werden. Einsendeschluss ist der 31.08.2022.

Mit der Einsendung erklärt sich der Einsender damit einverstanden, dem gemeinnützigen Verein Let's Plant e.V. ein nicht-ausschließliches Recht zur Nutzung der Bilder und der begleitenden Texte für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke, insbesondere für Ausstellungen in digitaler oder physischer Form einzuräumen, wobei immer der Einsender bzw. Urheber genannt werden muss. Let's Plant e.V. bietet in Zusammenarbeit mit geeigneten Sponsoren an, öffentlich zugängliche Ausstellungen der bestplatzierten Fotos zu organisieren.

Die bestplazierten Fotos des Tropentages 2021

In 2021 hatten wir tolle Fotos und Hintergrundgeschichten. Ein großes Dankeschön an alle Teilnehmer! Hier die Rangliste und die bestplatzierten Fotos:

Kategorie Einzelfotos:

Erster Platz: Sarada Thapa. Foto anschauen.
Zweiter Platz
: Toán Nguyen. Foto anschauen.
Dritter Platz: Toán Nguyen. Foto anschauen.

Kategorie Fotostories:

Erster Platz: Shibire Bekele. Fotos anschauen.
Zweiter Platz
: Giovanna Chavez. Fotos anschauen.
Zweiter Platz: Inga Nienkerke. Fotos anschauen.

Die Ergebnisse des Tropentages 2020

Auf dem Tropentag 2020 hat Let's Plant zum ersten Mal den Fotowettbewerb ausgerichtet. Es wurden viele interessante Fotos eingesendet zum Thema "degradiertes Land im Sinne eines ganzheitlichen Landschafts-Managements aufzuwerten / zu verbessern" - aus über 18 Ländern und 4 Kontinenten! Die Jury hat eine Rangfolge erstellt und die Ergebnisse wurden im Rahmen des Tropentag 2020 präsentiert. Wir danken allen Teilnehmern für ihre fantastischen Beiträge! Für die Jury war es sehr schwierig, sich für eine Rangfolge der Fotos zu entscheiden. Wir haben drei Gewinner in der Kategorie "Bestes Einzelbild" und drei Gewinner in der Kategorie "Beste Fotostory" nominiert. Hier sind die Ergebnisse:

Kategorie Einzelfotos:

Erster Platz: Rex Parro. Foto anschauen.
Zweiter Platz: Julian Neef. Foto anschauen.
Dritter Platz: Sushma Banjara. Foto anschauen.

Kategorie Fotostories:

Erster Platz: Jakob Scheler. Fotos anschauen.
Zweiter Platz: Teresa Rojas. Fotos anschauen.
Dritter Platz: Elio Guarionex. Fotos anschauen.

Einige der Siegerfotos sind im Rahmen des Projektes Zeitenwende im Kottenforst ausgestellt. Zur Ausstellung gelangt man über diese Route.

 

Exhibition Zeitenwende

 

Firmen und Organisationen, welche dieses Projekt unterstützen:

ATSAF Logo     EFI Logo

Region

Collage of students planting trees.

Let's Plant Addis is a joint reforestation project in Ethiopia, launched by Let's Plant e.V. in cooperation with the environmental group of the German School in Addis Ababa (DBSAA) and the Ethiopian Forestry Research Institute (EEFRI) in 2020. The goals of the project are:

  1. 10,000 trees of local tree species are to be planted on an eroded/deforested area.
  2. The trees are to be cared for over a long period of time so that they can establish themselves sustainably. 
  3. The students are to be involved in the reforestation process, actively shape the project, gain experience and develop an awareness of sustainable reforestation.

With the help of EEFRI, an area of about 4ha near Bishoftu was identified and recruited for the project. The local tree species Olea africana (African olive tree) and Juniperus procera (East African juniper) emerged as suitable species for the area. A total of 10,000 seedlings of both species were grown between October 2020 and June 2021 in a self-built nursery on the DBSAA premises and at the forestry Institute. In July and August 2021, the seedlings were planted out on the site with the support of EEFRI and local labor. Currently, the seedlings are watered and protected from animal browsing by guards. Our president visited the area in September 2021 and interacted with our local partners.

Here are some impressions of the project:

Students sowing tree seeds.
Details of sowing

Das ist ein Spacer.

Individual Students
Some students around a provisional nursery

Das ist ein Spacer.

Seedlings in bag pots.
Seedlings in nursery.

Das ist ein Spacer.

Unloading seedlings on planting site.

Das ist ein Spacer.

A man planting a seedling.

Das ist ein Spacer.

Two men planting seedlings.

Das ist ein Spacer.

Young people planting seedlings.

Das ist ein Spacer.

More people planting seedlings.

Milestones that have already been achieved:

  • Preparation of a small tree nursery on the premises of the German school.
  • Procurement of the 10,000 seeds.
  • Sowing of 750 seeds on the premises of the German school.
  • Sowing of the remaining seeds at the forestry institute.
  • Integration of the planting campaign into the curriculum of the German school (e.g. within the framework of working groups).
  • Announcement of the project in the Bonn area (e.g. newspaper article in the General-Anzeiger).
  • Localization and acquisition of a suitable area.
  • Planting of the seedlings on the area.

For the project we still need donations for

  • Construction of a fence to protect against browsing by wild animals
  • Irrigation of the plants
  • Paying local laborers to assist with irrigation
  • Donations to date have been used to purchase the seeds and nursery stock, provide irrigation to date, and plant the seedlings on the site.

In addition to support from committed private individuals, we have received an initial financing from Deutsche Telekom and the non-profit organization Menschenfreude.org financed 1,500 trees. Many thanks to all previous donors! Overall, we have achieved around a third of our donation target for this project. Therefore, the following still applies: every donation helps to advance the project and to plant Addis!

Let's Plant
IBAN: DE97 8306 5408 0004 1350 59
BIC (SWIFT Code): GENODEF1SLR

 

or easily via

Donate now! This donation form is provided by betterplace.org.

You are very welcome to share our German project flyer as well! The flyer can be downloaded here: Flyer Let's Plant Addis

Flyer front
Flyer back

 

Companies and Organisations, which support this project:

Telekom Logo
Menschenfreude Logo
Panorama view of rift valley

As part of the Tropentag 2022 we are again organizing a photo competition. The topic is: upgrading/improving degraded land in terms of holistic landscape management. The call for applications is carried out in cooperation with the Tropentag 2022 (https://www.tropentag.de/). The Tropentag takes place from September 14 until September 16 2022 as a hybrid conference (partly online, partly in attendance) in Prague. The conference is jointly organized by the universities of Berlin, Bonn, Göttingen, Hohenheim, Kassel-Witzenhausen (all Germany), Ghent (Belgium), Prague (Czech Republic), Vienna (Austria) and furthrtmore the Leibniz Center for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF e.V.), the Working Group for Tropical and Subtropical Agricultural Research (ATSAF e.V.) and the GIZ Fund International Agricultural Research (FIA). With around 1000 participants, the Tropentag is one of the largest scientific congresses on tropical and subtropical agricultural sciences in the world. It is interdisciplinary and designed with a strong emphasis on young scientists

The idea of the photo competition is to find pictures and photo reports on the topic that are as expressive as possible. In this way, interesting, promising and emotionally appealing approaches should be collected and made known. 

The two categories of the competition are:

  1. Best single picture
  2. Best photo story (max 10 photos)

An informative title and, if possible, a small history and (scientific) background information are asked to be provided for each submission. Submissions are sent to fotocontest@lets-plant.org. Deadline for submissions is 31.08.2022.

By submitting, the sender agrees to provide a non-exclusive right to the NGO Let's Plant e.V. to use the pictures and the accompanying texts for non-commercial purposes, in particular for exhibitions in print and online, always acknowledging and mentioning the sender/copyright holder. In cooperation with appropriate sponsors, Let's Plant offers to organize publically accessible exhibitions of the best placed photos.

 

The Winning Photos of Tropentag 2021

Also in 2021 we had great photos and background stories. A big thank you to all participants! Here are the ranking and the winning photos:

Category single photos:

1st place: Sarada Thapa. See photos.
2
nd place: Toán Nguyen. See photos.
3rd place: Toán Nguyen. See photos.

Category photo stories:

1st place: Shibire Bekele. See photos.
2
nd place: Giovanna Chavez. See photos.
2nd place: Inga Nienkerke. See photos.

The Results of Last Year: Tropentag 2020

In the framework of Tropentag 2020, Let's Plant hosted the photo competition for the first time. Many interesting photos have been submitted concerning the topic "to upgrade / improve degraded land in the sense of holistic landscape management" - from over 18 countries covering 4 continents! The jury ranked the submissions and the results have been presented as part of the enclosure of Tropentag 2020. We thank all participant for their phantastic contributions! For the jury it was very difficult to decide for a ranking of the photos. We nominated three winners in the category "Best single picture" and three winners in the category "Best photo stories". Here are the results:

Category single photos:

1st place: Rex Parro. See photos.
2
nd place: Julian Neef. See photos.
3rd place: Sushma Banjara. See photos.

Category photo stories:

1st place: Jakob Scheler. See photos.
2
nd place: Teresa Rojas. See photos.
3
rd place: Elio Guarionex. See photos.

Some of the winner photos are exhibited in the framework of the project Zeitenwende in the Kottenforest (near Bonn). The exhibition can be reached by this route.

 

Exhibition Zeitenwende

 

Companies and Organisations, which support this project:

ATSAF Logo     EFI Logo

Besucher auf der Ausstellung im Botanischen Garten

Climate change is one of the biggest problems humanity will have to tackle in the coming years. One of the most appropriate measures to combat global warming is planting trees. Trees have the amazing ability to provide various ecosystem services - and for free! Among other things, they store large amounts of the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide, clean the air, have a cooling effect on their surroundings through their transpiration, have positive effects on wildlife and biodiversity and provide people with food and oxygen.
It's actually pretty easy, isn't it? You just have to plant more trees! Unfortunately, this awareness has not yet reached everyone. So we want to change that by raising awareness of the importance of planting and reforestation projects. We do this, for example, by convening discussion groups where people can come together and discuss things with one another, organize thematic film presentations, report on various projects such as our planting project in Ethiopia, in regional daily newspapers, at trade fairs and at presentations, carry out campaigns with schools and host an annual photo contest on improving degraded landscapes. Since these actions are often associated with financial outlay, every donation helps to carry the idea and awareness out into the world: Let's Plant!

 

Companies and Organisations, which support this project:

Icon Botanical Gardens Bonn